Scholastic Achievements Recognized at Fall Convocation

To kick off the school year, the student body and faculty gathered on Monday, September 12 for the 2022 Fall Academic Convocation, which celebrated Regians' academic and extracurricular achievements from the previous year. Students who earned final grades of Honors or above were awarded Order of the Owl recognition. General Excellence awards were given to students who stood out both in and out of the classroom, and individual awards were bestowed upon select upperclassmen for their accomplishments within the school community. 

“We give thanks to God for the many graces and gifts offered to us last year," said Interim Principal Dr. Ralph Nofi, “and now we ask him to confirm and to bless all the good we tried to do, as well as to praise him for his grace and mercy."

Listed below are the awards presented at the Fall 2022 Academic Convocation:

St. Michael’s College Book Award: Jonathan Flanigan '23

The St. Michael's Book Award is awarded to a student entering his senior year who has strong academics and demonstrates a sustained and sincere commitment to community service, and also to issues of peace, justice, and concern for others.

Brown University Book Award: Sean Healey '23

Each year, through the auspices of a Regis alumnus, Brown University offers a book award to the Regis student entering senior year who best combines academic excellence with clarity in written and spoken expression.

The Rensselaer Award: Nathaniel Croce '23

Rensselaer Polytechnic Institute awards an annual prize to students beginning senior year in selected high schools who have performed outstandingly in mathematics and science during their high school careers.

The Beckett Award: Dean Minello '23 and Luke Dolan '23

The Regis High School Class of 1966 established this award in memory of their late classmate, Dr. Timothy F. Beckett, Jr. The award provides a challenge to Regians, and is given to the student who in his first three years at Regis best exemplifies the ideals of Christian service to others, leadership, the promotion of justice for all, and the pursuit of excellence that Tim embodied while at Regis and throughout his life. This award's true value is the invitation to all Regians to follow and commit to a lifelong call to live with generosity and noble hearts, as Tim did, in the service of others and the advancement of justice.

The Rodden Award: Antonio Lobaccaro '23 and Leonardo Lobaccaro '23

At the suggestion of the student council, Regis established certificates for service to the school in the field of extracurricular programs, activities, and Christian Service. Several years ago, a benefactor also contributed a monetary award in memory of Margaret T. Rodden for the recipient of this certificate. Many of our most successful programs could not exist and people in our community could not be helped without the labor, organizational ability and devotion of students who work, often unnoticed and unthanked, behind the scenes. 

The Hayes Award: Avery Espiritu '23

The Richard P. Hayes Award is given to a student who has distinguished himself in the theater activities of Regis.

The Lagano Family Award: Kai-Shan Kwek-Rupp '24

The Joseph Lagano, Jr. Award, named for a member of the Class of 1998 whose death in the summer between his sophomore and junior years was a tremendous loss to the Regis community, is presented to a student beginning his junior year who in his first two years at Regis exemplified the values of service to Regis, to those in need, and to the civic community.

General Excellence

Seniors (Class of 2023): Brandon Ally, George Cheung, Nathaniel Croce, Max Dingli, Luke Donoghue, Austin Durkin, Jonathan Flanigan, Jonathan Hartanto, Sean Healy, Daniel Jarka, Taylor Kruse, Dean Minello, Aidan Moran, Peter Mylek, Daniel Ngiam, Tobias Platt, Shane Stesner

Juniors (Class of 2024): Daniel Bajada, Daniel Biviano, Michael Cameron, Ray Canning, Theodore Dros, Dominick Facchini, Jonah Kennedy, Caleb Lee-Kong, Michael Mahoney, Xavier Milano, Silas Nwaishienyi, Charles Cheuermann, Robert Taverni, Anthony Venturino, Brandon Wilk

Sophomores (Class of 2025): Nicolas Araneo, Liam Bergerson, Nicholas Ciordas, Jose Galindo, Peter Grande, Ryan Grondin, Darwin Jimenez-Rodriguez, Charles Mango, Liam McCormack, Evan McElfresh, Holden Nelson, Jack Obrycki, Robert Spinna, Allen Wilk

Order of the Owl

Seniors (Class of 2023): Brandon Ally, George Cheung, Jun Choi, William Cihra, Andrew Cimmino, Nathaniel Croce, Max Dingli, Luke Donoghue, Austin Durkin, Sebastiano Egan, Avery Espiritu, Jonathan Flanigan, Seamus Flannery, Aidan Gouley, Alexander Graber, Jack Grondin, Jonathan Hartanto, Sean Healey, Daniel Jarka, Jason Jang, Andrew Joel, Reece Jones, Antonio Jun, Hugh Kane, Edward Kerwin, Philip Konrad-Parisi, Taylor Kruse, Joseph Larson, Gabriel Margolies, Matthew McNamara, Dean Minello, Aidan Moran, Peter Mylek, Daniel Ngiam, Henry Noonan, Tobias Platt,  Aidan Puma, Carlton Roe, Alex Sabelja, Sergio Santander, Christopher Sewkumar, Shane Stesner

Juniors (Class of 2024): Francesco Agnello, Jason Alperin, Philip Andriola, Daniel Bajada, Luca Bianco, David Biviano, Lucius Camaj, Michael Cameron, Ray Canning, Ryan Carmody, William Carragher, Thomas Chun, Alexander Cohen, Sabato Daniele, Theodore Dros, Dominick Facchini, Peter Fitzmaurice, Michael Guerrero, Finnian Hayden, Gebran Kastoun, Tuilaepa Katoanga, Jonah Kennedy, Chris Kim, Kai-Shan Kwek-Rupp, Caleb Lee-Kong, Ames Lurz, Michael Mahoney, Xavier Milano, Thomas Nolan, Silas Nwaishienyi, Brendon O'Keefe, Stephen Owen, William Pilecki, Mark Quaglia, Kieran Redington, Charles Scheuermann, Christian Scheuermann, Zachary Serban, Joshua Severino, Aidan Short, Jake Sidell, Robert Taverni, Matthew Ty, Anthony Venturino, Daniel White, Brandon Wilk 

Sophomores (Class of 2025):  Nicolas Araneo, Lionel Augustine, Brian Bannon, Liam Bergerson, John Bianco, Adam Cartano, Nicholas Ciordas, Fintan Clery, Leonardo Damato,  Lorenzo Diamantini, John Facchini, Jose Galindo, Brendan Galvin, Matthew Gassoso, Peter Grande, Ryan Grondin, John Huvane, Colin Jennings, Darwin Jimenez-Rodriguez, Joshua Jung, Joseph Kaecker, Finnegan Kearns, Roman Kimuyu, Ethan Klimczak, Noel Lavergne, Ethan Lee, Jacob Magahis, Charles Mango, Larson Marquez, Liam McCormack, Evan McElfresh, Jude Morrison, Holden Nelson, Jack Obrycki, Emmet O'Sullivan, Owen O'Toole, Ayan Pai, Henry Perduto, Michael Petrides, Thomas Pizzulli, Maximilian Schiller, Joseph Singer, Robert Spinna, Raymond Sullivan, Allen Wilk

Posted: 9/15/22